The HAPCOA 2014 Aguila Awards Committee recently announced the selection of those individuals or organizations that will receive recognition at the 2014 Aguila Awards Luncheon.  Nominations were received from a number of agencies, departments and individuals and all nominated are applauded for their outstanding service to the community.

The Aguila Awards Luncheon will be held on Tuesday, December 2nd as part of the 41st Annual HAPCOA National Law Enforcement Training Symposium.  The Symposium will be held the week of December 2-4, 2014 at the WESTIN Riverwalk Hotel in San Antonio, TX.

There are three Medallion Award Categories:

  • Gold Medal of Valor Award: presented to an individual, who while on official duty, performed beyond the call, exemplifying courage and boldness
  • Silver Medal for Meritorious Conduct: presented to an individual, who has performed meritorious work in law enforcement.
  • Bronze Medal for Community Service: presented to an individual who has contributed to the civic projects or programs, which have resulted in the betterment of the community. 
These awards are presented annually to individuals, agencies, or departments nationwide in recognition for promoting a standard of excellence that exemplifies law enforcement’s contributions and dedication to the quality of life in local communities. This Awards Program helps law enforcement agencies nationwide and the communities they serve by redefining the concept of law enforcement and how it is routinely performed.

The 2014 Medallion winners are as follows: 


Ann Marie Carrizales, Police Officer
Stafford Police Department, Fort Bend County, TX 


Special Agent Carlos Castro
Naval Criminal Investigative Service
Camp Lejeune, NC 

Inspector Derek Martinez
U.S. Postal Inspection Service
New York City, NY


Hispanic National Law Enforcement Association
Prince Georges County Police Department, Maryland

Photo of the 2012 HAPCOA 39th Annual National Law Enforcement Training Symposium, Opening Ceremony, Long Beach, CA