National President: Xavier F. Morales

I am Xavier Morales and it is my privilege to serve as your 25th National President. During my 22-year career as a Special Agent with the United States Secret Service, I’ve been fortunate to have the opportunity to attend various HAPCOA training events. From my first HAPCOA symposium, I’ve always been very impressed with HAPCOA’s rich tradition of history and excellence. Most importantly, HAPCOA training events have given me the opportunity not only to meet attendees from the various state, local, and federal law enforcement agencies, but to also call them friend. 

HAPCOA was founded in 1973, and began with an informal meeting in Southern CA of a group of senior Hispanic law enforcement officers who believed there was a need to support, mentor and educate themselves and those who would come after them. In time, Hispanic federal agents were invited to attend HAPCOA meetings and realized the importance and benefits of becoming active members.  It is only fitting that in 2013 HAPCOA recognized retired ATF Deputy Assistant Director George Rodriquez with HAPCOA’s Silver Medal for Meritorious Conduct. George was one of the first Hispanics to be promoted to SES with ATF and was the first federal agent to serve as HAPCOA President from 1993-1994. Sadly, George passed away after battling cancer, but his determination to recruit federal agencies to HAPCOA and his commitment to HAPCOA will never be forgotten. I promise to continue the vision of those original members and George in recruiting, mentoring, educating and promoting Hispanic law enforcement officials.   

As your HAPCOA president it’s my goal to continue in HAPCOA’s rich tradition of excellence. My goal is threefold:  It is my desire that all HAPCOA members continue to push young Hispanics to not only graduate with a college degree, but to also pursue their masters and doctorate; to not only recruit, but educate fellow Hispanics to what HAPCOA exemplifies and to increase HAPCOA’S membership, and lastly to educate the private sector on the benefits of supporting HAPCOA. 

In closing, during the upcoming year I look forward to calling each and every one of you friend. That means if there is anything that I or any member of this board can do for you feel free to contact us anytime.       

Thank you for your trust and the opportunity to serve you.

Xavier F. Morales
National President

2014 National Board

NameFull Name
PresidentXavier Morales, US Secret Service
1nd Vice PresidentDon Tijerna, Bexar County Sheriffs Office
2nd Vice PresidentJohn Torres, Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives (retired)
3rd Vice PresidentTina Nieto, Los Angeles Police Department
4th Vice PresidentRichard Rosa, Federal Air Marshal Service
Sergeant-at-armsSteve Reyna, Bexar County Sheriffs Office
National SecretaryRolando Belmares, Texas State University
National TreasurerOscar Hernandez, Department of Homeland Security
Parliamentarian/HistorianYvonne Vann, Bexar County Sheriffs Office
Executive DirectorAnthony Chapa, US Secret Service (retired)
Director at LargeManuel Ovalle, US Secret Service (retired)
Past National PresidentPaul Chapa, Trinity University Police Deparment
Director EmeritusJavier F. Pena, Drug Enforcement Administration (Retired)

Past Presidents

Paul J. Chapa 2012-2013
Joaquin J. Herran 2011-2012
Tony Cox 2010-2011 
Hector Hernandez 2008-2010
James Pina 2007-2008
Ray Leyva 2006-2007
Frank Hernandez 2005-2006
Albert Najera 2004-2005
Elvin Crespo 2003-2004
Arthur R Parra Sr. 2002-2003
Sandalio Gonzalez 2001-2002
Ralph Lopez 2000-2001
Edwin Rios 1999-2000
Errol J. Chavez 1998-1999
Joe Delopez 1997-1998
Arturo Venegas 1995-1996
George A. Rodrigues 1993-1994
Wilfred Navarro 1991-1992
Eduardo Gonzalez 1989-1990
David S Gomez 1987- 1988
Abel S. Armas 1986-1987
Charles Gonzales 1981-1986
Alberto Atividad 1978-1980
Eusevio Hernandez 1973-1978