Back to news


November 19, 2019

Award Nominations Now Accepted:  Deadline February 15, 2020

The Hispanic American Police Command Officers Association (HAPCOA) sponsors the coveted “AGUILA” Awards Program.  Aguila is the Spanish word for Eagle. The eagle is a universal symbol of vigilance, strength and courage. There are two types of Aguila Awards: The Aguila Statue Award and the Aguila Medallion Awards.

Those selected to receive the 2019 Awards will be recognized and presented their awards on Wednesday, April 29, 2020 at the HAPCOA 46th Annual National Law Enforcement Training Symposium – Aguila Awards Luncheon to be held in San Antonio, TX.


It is the highest form of recognition given by HAPCOA for exceptional contributions by an individual or an organization in support of HAPCOA’s mission and goals. Nominees exemplify the highest levels of concern for Public Safety and embody the principals of HAPCOA was founded to promote. This award can be awarded to a private individual, community organization, or a law enforcement/criminal justice agency.


There are the Medallion Award Categories:

  • Harris Technology  Award (Plaque): presented to an individual or task force who used advanced technology to investigate and solve significant criminal cases.
  • Gold Medal of Valor Award: presented to an individual, who while on official duty, performed beyond the call, exemplifying courage and boldness.
  • Silver Medal for Meritorious Conduct: presented to an individual, who has performed meritorious work in law enforcement.
  • Bronze Medal for Community Service: presented to an individual who has contributed to the civic projects or programs that have resulted in the betterment of the community. These awards are presented annually to individuals, agencies, or departments nationwide in recognition for promoting a standard of excellence that exemplifies law enforcement’s contributions and dedication to the quality of life in local communities. This Awards Program helps law enforcement agencies nationwide and the communities they serve by redefining the concept of law enforcement and how it is routinely performed.


Nominee(s) must be sworn law enforcement officer from any federal, state, county, university or local law enforcement agency within the United States. Nominations must be submitted by an active member of HAPCOA, who must provide all pertinent information on the nominee. Nomination must involve an incident occurring within the last year. Nomination submissions are currently being accepted through February 15, 2020, and should be submitted via the HAPCOA Awards website page (

HAPCOA 2016 Medal of Valor.jpg

HAPCOA Medals created and donated by Shimon Elbaz, Entenmann-Rovin Badge Company of Los Angeles, CA.

Recent Articles

HAPCOA Executive Director Tony Chapa and Immediate Past National President Don Tijerina attended the ProfessionalizingRead More


HAPCOA Immediate Past National President Don Tijerina attended the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) CriminalRead More